30 Interesting Facts about Cricket World Cup

The cricket world cup is set to be held after every four years. This premiere cricket championship contest is a one-day cricket event which is one of the most watched sporting events of the world. This article comprises up of interesting facts which are must-know for cricketing fans around the world. Only a dire cricket fan would be interested in such minute details.

But before we jump in all the crazy cricket world cup facts let us inform you that you can watch the live cricket action of the ICC World Cup 2019 from your home.

How to Watch Cricket World Cup 2019 Online?

The most awaited cricket event has been started and underway. The mega cricket event is being hosted by England and will end on the 14th of July 2019. 10 (ten) teams are participating for the win including the 5-time winner Australia. If you are excited to watch live online, then you can easily stream the live action from your home, or you can spend a hefty sum of money and travel to the UK to watch the live action from England.

Amazing Facts about Cricket World Cups

  1. The first cricket world cup was contested in 1975 in England.
  2. Outside England, the first time Cricket World Cup was contested in India and Pakistan jointly in 1987.
  3. The first cricket world cup hosted 60 overs per side.
  4. In 1987 the overs bowled to a single team was reduced to 50.
  5. In 2007 Australia made history and became the first team ever to win the title three times in a row.
  6. West Indies won the cricket World cup 1975 by beating Australia by 17 runs.
  7. The 1979 Cricket world cup was also won by West Indies after they defeated England by 92 runs.
  8. India won the grandest title in 1983 after it defeated the defending champions West Indies by 43 runs.
  9. Australia has crowned champions of the 1987 cricket world cup after it defeated England in a close contest of 7 runs.
  10. Pakistan’s legend Wasim Akram and Imran Khan led their home side to victory in the 1992 World Cup after they dated England by 22 runs.
  11. Srilanka won the 1996 Cricket world cup after defeating Australia in the finals by 7 wickets.
  12. The 1999 cricket world cup was the beginning of the Australian reign in the cricketing world. The mighty Aussies won the title after defeating Pakistan by 8 wickets.
  13. In 2003 Australia defeated India by a long margin of 125 runs and claimed the title yet again.
  14. 2007 marked Aussies brilliance when they claimed the world cup tile three times in a row after defeating Srilanka in the final by 53 runs.
  15. The 1983 winner India claimed yet another title in 2011 after defeating Srilanka by 6 wickets in their home ground.
  16. In 2015 the mighty Aussies claimed their 4th title after defeating New Zealand by 7 wickets.
  17. The world cup 2019 is set to be hosted in England. England is eyeing to win the title in its home ground.
  18. Roy Fendricks, a West Indies opener, was the first man to be out-hit wicket in the ODI history. The incident took place in the 1975 world cup finals when West Indies was playing Australia’s pacer Dennis Lillee.
  19. During the 1979 World cup finals when Viv Richards was on strike England Captain Mike Brearley sent all his fielders to the fence. The legendary batsman Viv still managed to send the ball all the way with a stylish flick shot.
  20. Kepler Wessels was the first player to represent two nations in the world cup. He first played for Australia in 1982 and 1985 and then represented South Africa in 1991. He was later announced as the captain of the South African side in 1992 world cup.
  21. Imran Khan was the first captain who returned from an announced retirement from the international cricket in 1988. The inspirational captain led his side to victory in the 1992 cricket world cup.
  22. Sachin Tendulkar’s dismissal in 1996 world cup semi-final caused havoc in the Eden Gardens when fans started to light stadium ablaze. Srilanka was declared winners as the match officials had to stop the match after fans started throwing bottles.
  23. Glenn McGrath is the highest wicket-taker with a standing record of claiming 72 wickets in the mage event collectively.
  24. Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for the most ns scored in world cups 2,278 in six world cups.
  25. Clive Lloyd and Ricky Ponting are the only two captains in the world how have won the world cup twice for their nations. Lloyd in 1975 and 1979 and Ponting in 2003 and 2007.
  26. Chetan Sharma was the first bowler to claim a hat trick in the world cup. He made it in the history books in 1987 world cup.
  27. Due to the racial policy of South Africa, the nation could only participate after the 4th edition of the mega event.
  28. England is the only country to host the most number of world cups.
  29. India’s Kapil Dev was the youngest captain ever to lift the world cup trophy. He was only 24 when India won the title in 1983.
  30. Sachin Tendulkar scored 673 runs in the 2003 World cup which is the most yet by any batsman in the competition so far.

1,478 total views, 1 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *